Guest Reviews

LUXE Villas Bali

Trip Advisor rates LUXE Villas Bali

The #1 Hotel in Bali

“5 stars doesn’t do this justice!”

My boyfriend and I were desperate to stay here having read the amazing reviews, and we were not disappointed.
Admittedly, there was a slightly shaky start, as there was a booking mix-up which should have meant that we were not able to stay at Luxe, however, the way that this situation was handled only adds further testament that Luxe villas are entirely customer focused and will go above and beyond to make any guest feel like part of the Luxe family.
The food was incredible – breakfast was served either in the restaurant or in your room, and the afternoon tea was an additional delicious treat on a daily basis; the service was attentive without ever being intrusive – everyone knew our names and would stop for a chat offering us local advice as to where to go or what to do whilst in Ubud; and Paul and Grace were the most excellent owners – Paul even offered us his Thermos to take when we set off on a 2am hike up Mount Batur.
Never before have I been unable to fault on Trip Advisor, but Luxe Villas truly thought of everything. There is no other place that you should stay whilst in Ubud!
Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple

“Better than all the reviews!”

We have just spent two nights at Luxe Villas in the Sky Loft Suite and my only complaint is that we didn’t stay long enough. Everything at Luxe Villas is just beautiful. We ate all our meals at the restaurant and the cocktails were the best I’ve ever had. The staff were all so accommodating, especially in assisting us with a late checkout due to some complicated travel plans. They have a sophisticated water purification system for the entire property including the swimming pool which means that you can drink water straight from the tap like you would do at home. Thank you Paul and staff- we hope to one day be back!.
Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple

“Truly my Home in Paradise”

This has been my second time in Bali, both staying at Luxe Villas, as it truly is a home away from home in paradise. Although you are only minutes away from the city center, when you’re at Luxe Villas you feel like you are one with nature. The decor is amazing, and definitely has an Indonesian flair. The environment is always very peaceful and quiet…. Sooooo Relaxing! The staff is always friendly and welcoming, checking in on your day every time you walk by reception, making sure every need is met. The restaurant offers fantastic food and service in the dining room or directly to your room. The owners, Paul and Grace, are the perfect hosts and are always around to greet you and lend a helping hand. I can’t wait for my next trip to paradise at Luxe Villas Bali!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family

“Beautiful, relaxing”

We had a lovely stay here in July, staying for 3 nights at the Sky Loft suite. We had our own rooftop private terrace overlooking the rice fields, outdoor shower and far to much space to fully take advantage of. It was over the top, opulent and super enjoyable. Interior was tastefully decorated while staff was kind, open and exceptionally helpful. Paul (the owner) had spent 5 years constructing this hotel before it’s opening just a few years ago. He was full of helpful recommendations and did his best to assure we had a wonderful say. Everything from the mini bar to the restaurant had western level pricing but with quality to match. We loved the unlimited breakfast with your pick of delicious a la carte options (included with room). Tea time in the afternoon fast became one of our favorites. We did book a driver through Luxe for a tour to surrounding villages for a look into the art/sculpture/fabric scene. This was average- with a safe and reliable driver though we didn’t feel like we got a good exposure to high quality work and he wasn’t particularly knowledgable. We did use him for pure transportation separately booked for other aspects of our trip though as he was an excellent driver.

After Luxe we moved over to the Ritz Carlton Mandapa and it was really a very interesting experience. I found the staff at Luxe to be more open and friendly, with the boutique luxury of this hotel really customized for each room. In short, this place has soul and you can really tell how much work, effort and engagement the owners put into it. Our favorite stay of this Bali trip, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this place.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple

“AMAZING staff and hotel”

You can’t imagine the amazing hospitality and service at the luxe. They are always one step ahead of you – they even created me a calendar print out of all my activities they booked for me! They are so kind and thoughtful. The rooms are amazing, not a bug in sight, the view is spectacular and the restaurant is very good. If ever I’m back to Bali I’ll be here.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple

“A pleasant surprise”

A pleasant surprise.

We were not sure what to expect, as it was a bit hard to tell what exactly this place was going from their website and the trip advisors reviews. I think the place undersells itself and told Paul as much when we were there.

By way of a little context, we are a same sex couple, early 40s, and enjoy luxury travel. Looking for places to stay and Bail that fit our tastes was somewhat difficult, lots of options that bill themselves as “luxury” and it was hard to tell if they were the real deal or faking it. We also stayed at the Kunja in Seminyak, and the Mulia in Nusa Dua. I have reviewed those as well.

Back to Luxe Villas – they are the real deal. In short we had a great experience, and would stay there again. It is small, only a few rooms, I would call it boutique. It felt much more like staying in someone’s home than in a hotel or villa for rent. Our room was the one bedroom Emerald Villa.

Like I said it felt more like a home than a hotel, the furnishings and decor were very unique and really demonstrated the tastes of the person who did the decorating. Not sure who it was. I found that I spent time admiring the art, the tchotchkes in the cabinets, looking at the furniture, etc. Really had the feel of a tastefully decorated home.

It was 3 floors, the entry floor had a huge living and dining area, and a fully equipped kitchen, and butler’s pantry. The pool was also on this level in the back of the unit. The 2nd floor had a huge living area as well, TV, king size bed, and spa bathroom, with a big walk in closet. The 3rd level was smaller, had a seating area, looked like it was mostly for admiring the views of the surrounding rice paddies. It looked like this area could be opened up, as there was a door that seemed to lead to another bedroom. Honestly the amount of living space we had was enough for 4-6 people, it felt huge with just the two of us.

The villa also came with butler, Nyoman, who took care of us and the villa during our stay. The way it kind of worked was the 1st floor was kind of a public area, Nyoman would come and go throughout the day, brining us breakfast, cleaning up, helping us make plans, etc. In fact by the time we woke up he had generally already set the breakfast table and was waiting for us. The 2nd floor was more our private area – he only went up there to clean.

So the room amenities were great, the TV had lots of channels, we tend to be quiet in the evening, and just like to chill and watch TV and there was tons of channels to choose from. I really enjoyed the private pool, it was small, but clean and the patio area was very nice with an outdoor seating area.. My partner found the pool a bit cold, but I thought it was perfect for cooling off after a hot sweaty day of wandering around Ubud.

One great amenity was the water filtration system, we could drink the water from the faucets which was very convenient for teeth brushing as well.

The bathroom was huge, giant shower, bathtub, and the big closets to keep all your stuff in. Everything seemed to be in good repair, although one night we returned and found the AC in our bedroom was not working, Paul the owner had a look and could not fix, so turned up the one in the bathroom and opened the connecting door to the bedroom area. It was fixed the next day while we were out, but did make for 1 warm night.

Mornings were always nice, breakfast was very well done, we tended to have parfaits and some kind of eggs, I would have thought it would be cooked in our kitchen, but Nyoman brought it over from the restaurant. Food was consistently delicious, We didn’t get a chance to have dinner at the restaurant, we were looking for more local cuisine, but I think if we were there longer we would have tried it based solely on the quality of the breakfast. I get the feeling the that kitchen in the villa would be used for larger, more complex meals. We ate dinner out every night so the most use the kitchen got was a place for us to put a few beers and a couple bottles of wine to have in the evenings. There was also beverages already in there available for purchase. Afternoon tea was also a very nice touch and like breakfast, included in the price of the villa.

So, as you have likely already read, access to the hotel is a bit unique. It is smack dab in the middle of Ubud, but surrounded by rice paddies. Views from all levels of the villa are very beautiful, very serene. Sitting outside admiring the views has a very calming effect. The scooter ride from town to the villas not so much! 🙂 You basically ride on the back while one of the staff gives you a ride to a pick up point in town. You have a cell phone to call when you are ready for a ride back. You get used to it, and the drivers are very good, even with people who are not used to being on 2 wheeled motorized vehicles. But in the dark, and when the path is crowded, it can be a bit white knuckled. All part of the experience and charm, although I did find myself saying no to one more beer or glass of wine at dinner knowing that I would be on the back of a scooter in the dark on the way back!

The staff and owner are all very friendly and helpful, with ideas on what to do, where to go, Nyoman arranged dinner reservations and transportation, and even a half day tour to to a coffee plantation, temple, and rice terraces. It was a great location to explore Ubud and the surrounding areas.

Ubud is a fascinating place, I would definitely go back, and if I did, I would stay at Luxe Villas again without hesitation.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple

“Belinda and Paul’s luxe experience”

We received a very warm welcome from Paul ( the owner ) and the personalised service and care continued throughout our stay .
The rooms are luxurious and comfortable with a sense of fun and quirkiness .
We enjoyed delicious food with great service and found all the staff to be attentive and cheerful .
We definately reccomend luxe villas

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple

“An amazing hotel!”

We spent 6 days in Luxe Villas as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in the Sky Loft suite and it was exceptionally spacious, stylish and the Sky lounge had beautiful sceneries of the surrounding area. The restaurant was the best in town and it was so good that by the last two days we stopped having dinner outside the hotel and would come back a little earlier to enjoy its food before it closes. The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and always had smiles on their faces! All in all an excellent experience that I can’t wait to repeat!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple

“LUXE, my home in Ubud!”

LUXE, a stylish Balinese villa which is surrounded by Kajeng rice fields and is only a 15-minute walk to Ubud Palace, with its neighbor, LUXE Barbeque & Grill, which is ranked as the number 4 of 625 Restaurants in Ubud, provide everything for travelers.

I was so lucky to choose LUXE among so many accommodations in Ubud. I visited Ubud in February this year. It was the time the paddy was just transplanted. Three months later, I visited Ubud again in May. It was the time the paddy was waiting to be harvested. LUXE arranged everything for my own tailor-made trip this time. They let me to stay as early as 8 in the morning on the first day and stay as late as 8 in the evening for the last day without any charge. They booked the sunrise tour to Mt. Batur for me which excluded the additional charge of solo traveler. They arranged me a relaxing body message which was ad-hoc after my sunrise tour. They even paid me the Australian wagyu rib eye steck which I tried only half of it as wagyu is not to my tastse.

The owner, Paul, and his staffs are as close as family. And so warm family atmosphere everywhere. I felt LUXE like my home.

It is hard to tell all the beauty about LUXE. Just feel it!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo

“How do you start describing perfection!?”

It’s difficult but I will attempt to describe the pure luxury of Luxe Villas Bali.

From the very first moment you are treated like family by the smartly-dressed, kind, smiling staff and delightful owners at this idyllic oasis. That gives you the first clue that you are in store for a very special stay. You won’t hear the roar of bikes and tourists, mostly you’ll just hear ducks, frogs and swaying palm trees. Bliss.

Every single detail of these rice paddy-situated villas seems to have been lovingly and methodically chosen for both beauty and function. Fantastic features in this beautifully appointed room has taken into consideration all of the things you long for in a luxury hotel room and several that you didn’t realise you were missing until they are presented. Ample storage space; hangers for all of your clothes not just four of your best items; pigeon holes for all of your shoes; stunning trinket trays for your jewellery, nic nacs, and keys – one in the bathroom, one next to the bed, and one on the desk. They even give you a local mobile with numbers for reception and transport keyed in – genius!

An itty bitty book light which I used for reading in the incredible, enormous marble bathtub; the clever shower layout with hooks and shelf for towel, robe and jewellery just two steps from the shower head; an ornate ice bucket for a refreshing drink; a platter heaving with local fruits (not w Pringle or tinned cashew in sight); decorative baskets, as a nice alternative to drawers, although both feature here. And interesting light-reading novel is offered, should you wish to sit in the gorgeous and oh so comfortable rocking chair in the late afternoon and look out over the rice paddies, with feet perched on the matching foot stool. Thoughtful notes and inspiring quotes are dotted here and there in the room but not overtly, more like lovely little surprises when unearthed. The list goes on and on!!

My room has a luxurious sky loft attached, and is gloriously styled; it features a comfy banquette and a mountain of chic cushions plus two arm chairs, from which to drink tea and look out over the rice fields in the afternoon, recline on the sun lounger and soak up the sunshine or the ideal place to watch the sun rise. I choose to take the included afternoon high tea in my sky loft bale. A fine decision. I think this has to be pretty close to heaven.

Dinner at the Villas’ Luxe Barbeque and Grill is just a perfect and exacting as the Villas themselves. A fine dining menu with both local favourites, given the luxe touch, plus aged steaks and much more. An expertly chosen wine list and recommended wine pairings for every single dish, plus mouth-watering desserts makes Luxe not only the place to stay but the place to eat as well.

Soft lighting, sultry ballads of current hits, candle light and swaying palms just outside the open windows create a relaxing romantic atmosphere, all done just so.

Piping hot bread is served to the table and then dish after lovely dish is brought out by the attentive lovely waiters, each dish equally as tasty as the last. My Norwegian salmon is cooked to perfection, the truffle mash dream-worthy and the paired white wine, magnifique. A gluten free triple chocolate mousse tops of a truly wonderful dining experience.

Luxe Villas Bali manage to achieve the mostly unachievable – making the spacious room feel like both a luxury hotel suite and also the homeliest boudoir you could hope for, so although I didn’t want the evening to end, I was looking forward to retiring into my tranquil room. Then to slide into the king sized bed with its stunning array of cushions, some of the biggest and fluffiest pillows I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping on and a mattress that was so much like snuggling up in a cloud that I asked the kind owner, Paul, where he got the mattresses – ‘flown in especially from overseas’ – money well spent; possibly the most comfortable mattress I’ve honestly ever slept on. I did not want to get up the next morning; not even for the delicious breakfast that would be awaiting me, but you need energy for a full day of travel, so off to breakfast I went, where the romantic sultry restaurant of the night before, is now stunningly bright and light. Juice, tea fruit platter and gluten free French toast dance on my taste buds as I savour the last hour of my stay.

As I pack, I am saddened to leave as I feel so at home here. I am given the warmest and kindest send off by the divine proprietors and staff and I know this is the first stay at Luxe of what will no doubt be a yearly event.

Their motto is “One Like No Other” and this sums it up beautifully. You simply must experience it for yourself.
Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo

“If I could give 10 stars I would!”

I don’t even know where to begin. Luxe is, without a doubt, the most incredible place I have ever stayed. If you’re in Ubud and can spare the extra money, you absolutely must stay at Luxe.

I booked the Sky Loft and a Chef’s Table dinner as a surprise for my girlfriend. My plan was to propose to her over dinner, and Luxe was very communicative and helpful while I was planning it from the other side of the world.

When we arrived in the airport in Bali, we were greeted by our driver, Dewa. He was so fun! Very friendly, constantly joking and laughing with us on the ride to Ubud. We drove most of the way in a nice SUV. The last 10 minutes or so were on the backs of motorbikes. The Luxe drivers were very careful and we felt perfectly safe with them.

Luxe was simply stunning. Located in the middle of green rice paddies and palm trees, it felt like being in the country when Ubud was just around the corner. We were greeted by Ketut (who is amazing!) and shown to our Sky Loft.

The Sky Loft was perfect. It was luxury like we had never experienced before. A beautiful, clean room, an incredible bathroom, and a bed that was beyond comfortable. When we arrived, we found that the staff had arranged thousands of flower petals in the room for our arrival. The Sky Loft also includes a second floor with lounge chairs and a gazebo, complete with a comfortable couch. We spent many pleasant hours up there reading with an incredible view of the rice paddies.

Another highlight was the owners, Paul and Grace. They were so sweet, always smiling, and made every effort to make sure our stay was perfect. Paul provided excellent restaurant and activity recommendations and was great to chat with!

I booked a downhill cycling tour through Luxe Villas, which my girlfriend and I enjoyed immensely. We also booked a car and driver for half day tour of the nearby water temple, rice terraces, and spice farms. Dewa happily showed us around the area and provided great information on the sights.

The Chef’s Table dinner was simply superb. We had seven courses of delicious Indonesian dishes prepared by the Luxe chef and carried up to us by our private butler. I couldn’t have imagined a better setting for my proposal (and she said yes!).

We spent the rest of our time at Luxe in pure bliss. Every day started with a delicious breakfast at the Luxe Restaurant. We spent our mornings walking around the area and exploring the rice paddies and forest nearby before returning to Luxe for afternoon tea in our gazebo. Luxe provided a phone for the duration of our stay that we used to call motorbikes to take us to and from Ubud whenever we wanted.

We were so sad when the time came to leave. Everyone at Luxe worked so hard to make sure that my girlfriend (now fiancee!) and I had an unforgettable experience. It’s a place that we’ll remember the rest of our lives!
Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple

“Home in Ubud”

We had the most amazing stay! Couldn’t have chosen a better place for our holiday. It truly deserves to the rated no. 1! The rooms were perfect, the food in the restaurant was the best that we ate out of all the meals that we had in ubud. Thank you Paul and Grace! We will be back soon.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family

“A highlight of our trip”

Over two trips to Ubud in the last couple of years, I’ve stayed at Plataran (which is centrally located, has good on-site yoga, but is a fairly busy and impersonal property), Sankara (inconveniently located unless you have your own transportation, poor on-site yoga, but with very nice pool villas), and Luxe. Luxe is by far my favorite.

Luxe is right in the middle of some rice paddies just to the north of town. With no roads nearby and excellent noise insulation in our room, we never heard anything from outside. There’s a paved path to town on which scooters can travel and Luxe very conveniently provides 24 hour roundtrip transportation, including a free mobile phone with which to make pickup requests for the duration of your stay. Before switching to Luxe, we stayed outside of town at Sankara, encouraged by their advertised hourly shuttle service, but in practice it was out of service for regularly scheduled breaks half of the times we wanted a ride into town and unreachable for picking us up in town as my local SIM card was data only and the hotel wouldn’t handle requests through email or whatsapp. No such problem at Luxe. Even better was that there was never a wait in any of the 8+ times we requested a ride. The walk alongside the fields is also very pleasant and only took us about 20 minutes.

One of us developed a mild case of Bali Belly in the days leading up to our arrival at Luxe and at our first lunch there, we asked the kitchen if an off-menu chicken soup could be prepared. “No problem at all,” we heard. It was delicious and did the trick. Being able to drink tap water (purified through on-site filtration) was a welcome relief after Sankara’s celebration of single-use plastic water bottles, and having an indoor, climate controlled bathroom was comforting following stays at other properties where outdoor toilets and sinks were shared with a variety of insects (none inside the room at Luxe either).

The on-site restaurant is excellent with unlimited a la carte orders at breakfast (helpful if you like to eat as much as I do) and one of the best dinners we had during our holiday. Complimentary afternoon tea (or coffee/fresh juice etc) with cooked and baked snacks was a treat.

The best part of the stay though was the staff. Everyone wears a smile and seems genuinely happy. We spoke at length with Paul about the development of the property (employing 100 people for 5 years!) and the extent of the work involved, like going so far as to cast the massive bathtubs on site. I appreciated that he and his partner seem to have done something terrific for the local economy while being very mindful of the physical environment.

We were truly made to feel welcome at Luxe and have been looking forward to our next stay since the minute we said goodbye. Thank you Paul & team.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple

“Honeymoon Trip!”

I’ve never bothered to write a TripAdvisor review. I’ve traveled extensively and care about the quality of where I stay, but usually don’t find the time to write detailed reviews after trips. That being said, I had to write a glowing review for LUXE Villas because the hotel was THAT amazing. The owners, Paul and Grace, are so passionate about making you feel at home during your stay, you actually feel like you’re a part of the family in a really genuine way. Our stay here reminded us of one of the major reasons why we travel in the first place: to make amazing connections with really good people. It also doesn’t hurt that the villas are INSANELY…well, LUXE. We stayed at some of the nicest villas we could find in Bali (we were on our honeymoon) and LUXE was hands down the nicest. We’re not big repeat travelers (there’s so much of the world to explore!), but we’ll visit LUXE again. After all, we now have family over there! Paul and Grace, thank you so much for such an amazing trip! You really went above and beyond to make our stay amazing and we’ll cherish those memories forever! Stay well and see you soon! XOXO
Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple

“Excellent vacation”

Luxr villas has excellent rooms.i have enjoyed with my wife .Staff attitude was excellent in welcoming guest and take care of them.It was very wonderful staying with Luxe villa.Luse villas go to extra mile away.
Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple

“Truly, one like no other…”

My wife and I spent two weeks in Bali, with the first week being in Seminyak and the second week at Luxe Villas. We stayed in the Sky Loft Villa and we absolutely loved it. The service was top notch and the attention to detail with everything was nothing short of perfect. We also booked the Chef’s Table dinner with the cocktail pairings. The courses and cocktails were amazing, and it was truly one of the most romantic dinners, overlooking the rice fields. About half our meals, we ordered from the Bar and Grill, all of which did not disappoint. We also booked a massage on our terrace, which was very reasonable and relaxing. When we did not order room service on our rooftop, we received great recommendations from Paul and Grace, who were genuine, sincere, and caring. They made us feel like family during our stay there and the staff was very hospitable.

Being world travelers, we both can say without a doubt this was the best place we have stayed at by far. Staying at Luxe Villas was more than just a destination; it was an experience worth every dollar. If you are still deciding on where to stay, look no further, because this IS the place to stay if you visit Bali. We can’t wait to visit again!

Thank you Paul, Grace, and staff for an amazing experience!
Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple

“Perfect”

We when in bali for few days,we chose this hotel for our relaxing place.Their provide all what we need,we no need go to other restaurants,This provided restaurants with good and tasty food.Room is really clean and stap also friendly person.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple

“Truly luxurious experience in the heart of the rice fields”

The luxury of the place caught us a bit by surprise and was beyond what we would have expected from a very nice but not too expensive hotel. We were really pampered through out our stay and Nyoman, our butler (yes, the hotel provides a dedicated butler throughout the stay), helped us to organize trips, make bookings and provided great advise on a variety of topics. He was very supportive while not being invasive. the room/villa was huge and very richly decorated with great taste. You could spend hours looking at the many art pieces in the room. the hotel itself is in a very beautiful area just a short walk or bike ride (hotel provided) from the city center. great experience, may more suited for couples looking for a unique and romantic atmosphere. In summary, a great experience!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family

LUXE Barbeque & Grill


Trip Advisor rates LUXE Barbeque & Grill

#6 of 657 Restaurants in Ubud

“Great food”

Great a la carte menu. Portions were small for dinner and best combined with a few courses making this a more costly dinner stop but stall a good value. We stayed at the Luxe Villa for 3 days so had several meals here. Breakfast was amazing and we tried pretty much everything on the menu. Favorites included the salmon eggs benedict, all the fruit juices. Dinner had some fantastic options. We did some room service which was great and finished our stay with the Chef’s Table dinner which was a lovely experience. Food had exceptional presentation and was a great blend of international flavors with an appropriate Indonesian focus of spices and sourcing. We did the cocktail pairing and while they were individually delicious tended more towards the mocktail than the cocktail. While I could appreciate the pairing with food flavors my preference would have been for wine. Portions were small for the individual courses as well which is standard for tasting menus, and towards the end we had to pause for a round of their delicious bread so as to not leave hungry which was a bit of a shame for a nearly $300 meal for 2 – but still a lovely experience and I would recommend it with the appropriate expectations.
Visited July 2017

“Fantastic experience in every possible way!”

If you’re just looking for dinner then do not go here. If you want an entire dining experience unlike any you have ever experienced then make your reservation now! Exhilarating motorbike ride through the rice paddies, outstanding personal service of the highest caliber, positively fabulous food. Owner cares a great deal about not only his customers but about his staff as well. Home run all the way!

Visited July 2017

“I never eat before”

I never eat before like there grill .. really nice and jussi .. excellent service staff are very helpful to explain me which foods how they make. I am so happy

Visited July 2017

“Fine dinner in zen environment”

To reach this very nice small restaurant you will be picked up at the Starbuck in the center of Ubud. After a 5′ trip on scooter you enter the dinning room through the kitchen.The restaurant belongs to a very zen villa complex middle in the rice fields. Small choice of starters and main dishes focused on barbecue & grill. All dishes were excellent. Also very nice choice of cocktails and wines. Very friendly and competent service. Very good price/quality ratio in romantic décor.

Visited July 2017

“An exhilarating dining experience”

We booked weeks before coming to Bali and it paid off. I had never been on a motorcycle before and was a bit apprehensive riding on the back of one in the dark but I needn’t have worried, it was so much fun (and felt safe,) darting in and out of allies, past little stores and through rice fields. My husband and I truly enjoyed the transportation part. The food was wonderful, the cappuccino mushroom soup was one of the best soups I’ve ever had and the Wagyu steaks grilled to perfection with very good truffle mash potatoes. The wine list was good and I got to taste 2 wines before deciding on a dry, fruity one that suited me well. This is a wonderful restaurant that is highly recommended. Just go!

Visited July 2017

“Oasis in the rice fields…They say no kids but we did!”

Amazing restaurant. They say it’s not kid friendly but we found it to be very kid friendly before 6pm

Visited July 2017

“Delicious!”

Food was excellent, the steak was melt in your mouth. Service was fantastic. A great place to dine in Ubud.

Visited July 2017

“Truly a “luxe” experience!”

We found this restaurant on TripAdvisor in the top 10 and we now understand why. As a steak lover I thought we would give it a go. Wow. Wow. WOW. You get picked up on a scooter by the wonderful staff and taken on a quick ride to the restaurant in the middle of a rice paddock. The food here is of amazing quality but the staff and overall dining experience is what makes this restaurant stand out. You can eat many good steaks in Australia (our home country) but none with an experience like this. The staff are extremely attentive and by your side to assist you in every way possible. After dinner we were offered a free cleanser of various flavour infused vodkas, and then proceeded downstairs to chat with the owner for close to an hour. I was pleasantly surprised to see Jack’s Creek as a beef producer on the menu- this is how I knew it would be good. Great for a special occasion, highly recommend.
Visited July 2017

“Absolutely wonderful!

My girlfriend and I stayed at Luxe Villas and had the pleasure of enjoying breakfast at the Luxe Barbeque and Grill every morning. We loved it! The menu had plenty of dishes, plus delicious fresh fruit juices and coffees.

The restaurant has plenty of windows with views of the surrounding rice paddies. The staff are attentive and the place is new and very clean.

We also booked a Chef’s Table dinner, which was simply incredible. Seven courses of Indonesian dishes prepared by the Luxe chef and taken to our rooftop gazebo by our private butler. Every single one was delicious. I highly recommend the Chef’s Table for a romantic dinner you will never forget!

Visited July 2017

“Char grilled to perfection”

I don’t usually bother with writing reviews, but this is worthy…. I was told to try Luxe bbq & grill from a friend and i will keep it short…. it was absolutely DELICIOUS! Perfect steak, great wine and a wonderful location, what more could one ask for from a dining experience??
Visited July 2017

“Excellent dining experience”

Went to luxe for dinner with my wife and two children, if was a superb evening with excellent food and weary nice wine. The service at Luxe is so pleasant and nice we really enjoyed our evening!

Visited July 2017

“Gourmet food at its best!”

We are a foodie family, and had two dinners out of the three nights that we were there. My son couldn’t have enough of the mushroom cappuccino, the lobster ravioli was outstanding, as were the perfectly cooked steaks. The truffle mashed potatoes were there for every meal. Eggs benedict for breakfast! I could go on and on! Also excellent selection of the red wines, which were recommended with every dish!
Visited July 2017

“Suprise surprise”

So my husband has booked this restaurant a few days before & he asked the restaurant about their location and where this restaurant is, because we were about to take the taxi there and we kept on questioning about where their exact location is but they told us to just wait infront of starbucks and that we will be picked up by them. And so we waited infront of starbucks with my husband and my three kids. We waited and was shocked to know that we would be driven to the restaurant with motorcycles. We found out that the place was actually located in the middle of nowhere and the obly way you can go there is by a motorcycle. It was quite a hassle to go with the motorcycle since it was quite cold and took quite a while to reach the restaurant , but it was overall an interesting experience. When we finally sat down in the restaurant, ordered, and ate. We all decided that it was totally worth it because the food is GREAT.
Visited July 2017

“Fantastic dinner”

We went for dinner here last night and all 4 of us found it a fantastic dining experience. We were picked up by their mopeds and taken on a 10 minute scenic ride to their restaurant, set in the middle of rice patties. It’s a small place so be sure to book in advance. The service was excellent, even addressing us by our names all evening. Attentive but not intrusive. We all enjoyed the starters and our streaks, with sides and wines. Dessert was also very good. A real
dining experience. Not cheap for Bali but we thought it excellent value for money considering the quality and being from Hong Kong, this would have cost much much more. Highly recommend

Visited July 2017

“Nice dinner spot”

Our favourite meal in ubud. A little out of the way and expensive we walked from the centre which was interesting as it was very dark! Once we arrived we were lucky they had a table as we hadn’t reserved. We all had very nice steaks. We had 3 courses and it was a bit pricey but nice. They gave us complimentary bike rides back to the centre which was very generous and appreciated after a long walk up there! Has a lovely ambience about it too.
Visited July 2017

“Chef’s table”

The dinner was excellent. Every dish was superb. What you expect to have at top restaurants in big cities in the world!

Visited July 2017

“Nice place”

We were quite excited after looking at the ling yummy menu.Starters were good,service was fantastic and delicious .Goodvif you want a change from stardard food.

Visited July 2017

“Incredible food”

Lovely experience at Luxe BBQ & grill. The staff were fantastic with the best service from any restaurant during our trip and the food was incredible.

Visited June 2017

“Great meal”

Food had great flavor and the setting is beautiful. My husband had the steak which he enjoyed. I had a chicken roll which was tasty but portion was small. Next time I would order more sides to supplement my meal. I also had the passion cheesecake which was really good.

Visited June 2017

“Excellent Dinner & Exceptional Service”

We had dinner tonight and found the total experience wonderful. The service was exceptional and thoroughly professional. Like most reviewers please don’t hesitate about the bike ride, it was my first time on a scooter and found it a delightful way to start the evening. The food was fantastic and our steaks were cooked to perfection. They have the locally made beers “Stark” & “1945” and well worth trying. I wish the restaurant every success and look forward to returning.

Visited June 2017

“Best steak I’ve eaten in Indonesia”

I’ve lived in Indonesia for one and a half years, Jakarta, and this is the best steak I’ve had to date. I had the Australia rib eye, it was superb. I took my parents and my dad also had a steak, he thought it was excellent as well. We had calamari and crab cakes for entree, extremely tasty.

The only negative for the food was the Barramundi. My parents are seafood lovers however didn’t appreciate the taste of and weren’t able to finish fish.

The drinks selection was good. I had a vodka martini and a local beer. Both were good.

The service was great. The waiter & waitress were very attentive and also great to chat to.

The location of the restaurant is tucked away and not accessible by car. So you will need a scooter or arrange with the restaurant to pick you up via scooter. The restaurant sent 3 gentlemen to pick us up near the bottom of the hill and dropped us back at the main drag after the meal. It was quite an adventure and an exciting way to start and end the evening.

I would gladly go here again and will make a point to do so. If you like a good steak then this restaurant is an essential part of your Ubud itinerary. The entree’s were also delightful. Don’t be scared away by the location. My parents are in their 60’s and hadn’t been on a motorbike for decades, however the gentlemen who took us on their bikes made us feel very safe. The service was pretty comparable with a high end restaurant in Australia and the conversation with the head waiter was entertaining. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful as you expect from Balinese people.

Visited June 2017

“Mr Chris”

First class from the moment we stepped in. As a company owner myself, I can sometimes be slightly harsh and over analytical however Luxe did not disappoint. My girlfriend and I took a drive from Kenderan into Ubud a few nights ago. We were told by a friend to find a restaurant called Luxe, and we did! Admittedly we took a few wrong turns to find it, as it is a tricky spot to find, however this just added to the excitement and adventure. We ordered the steak fillet and it was by far the best red meat we have eaten for a long time and certainly in Ubud. Service was 10/10 and very attentive and polite waiting staff. To top the evening off, as we left to get on our scooters we happened to bump into the owner of the restaurant and villas and he spent 20 minutes of his own time to print a map and recommend a a number of Restaurants and drives we should look into. We have just now returned from a fabulous mountain drive north of Ubud! Luxe is a must try- it will not disappoint!!

Visited July 2017

“Great food”

Great food. Fantastic service. Don’t be put off by the short scooter ride – it’s a real novelty and completely safe. Impressive wine list. Definitely recommend.

Visited June 2017

“Fantastic experience in every possible way!”

If you’re just looking for dinner then do not go here. If you want an entire dining experience unlike any you have ever experienced then make your reservation now! Exhilarating motorbike ride through the rice paddies, outstanding personal service of the highest caliber, positively fabulous food. Owner cares a great deal about not only his customers but about his staff as well. Home run all the way!
Visited June 2017

“Top Notch”

We had the chance to have one of the most enjoyable evenings during our stay in Ubud.

We decided to make a booking in Luxe BBQ & Grill, and the receptionist informed that the pick up would be with scooters. As first timers, we were trying to understand why cars are not allowed for a second, but once we overcome the idea and glad we did; it proved to be a fun ride with the scooter service through Ubud’s alleys and the rice fields.
Once we arrived and took the stairs up to the restaurant, we had a warm welcome from the chefs, and we moved to our table. Kitchen facilities were neat and spotless at first glance.

The menu is simple and to the point, and they choice of the ingredients ”scream”, quality.

Thumbs up for the Ravioli, Rib Eye MBS 7 and Chicken Roulade and of course the team of Luxe, where hospitality comes from the Heart!
All well cooked and above expectations.
To our surprise, the Negroni (cocktail) was fantastic chilled, balanced and stirred to perfection.
While we had our desserts, we had the pleasure to meet the owner Paul, and we had the chance to have a drink together.

The effort and the time to prepare the establishment; is reflecting in guest experience.
Paul is a great gentleman of Hospitality. Congratulations !

Next time we need to try the villas a well 🙂
Thank you, Paul 🙂

We visited the top 3 restaurants in town along with other casual establishments.
Luxe BBQ & Grill overall it was the best dining experience in Ubud with great value.

Visited June 2017

“Best meal ever!!! ❤”

We ate here last night which was our 6th night in Bali. I am quite a fussy eater and the Balinese food isn’t really my type of food so have been struggling to find some decent western food. Then we found Luxe. Our driver got a little lost trying to find the place and we didn’t realise that you’re supposed to call the restaurant and organise with them to send down scooters to the main road to pick you up as cars can’t get there so we walked about 700mtrs. But that was ok. Once in the set up was absolutely gorgeous. The cocktails were heavenly and the food….. the best I’ve ever eaten. I can not rate this restaurant high enough. Costs more like a high class restaurant but that’s because it is. Will definitely be back!!

Visited June 2017

“Amazing food, service”

Had done some research online to see where we should eat in Ubud and I’m very glad that this was the first choice! Quite possibly the best meal I’ve ever had ( meat is outta this world ) very nice scenery and setting! We also got escorted back to our hotel which is near but will definitely be back before we depart Ubud! Highly recommend not to sure what the negative reviews are about! Insanely good Didn’t want the meal to end, every piece of food was very tasty!

Visited June 2017

“Luxe BBQ is INCREDIBLE!”

Don’t miss the opportunity to dine here! Luxe BBQ is fantastic. The food is delectable and made to perfection. The staff from the kitchen to the waiters are amazing. They pay great attention to detail and the service is truly personal. They make you feel so special – Thank you LUXE for this experience!

Visited June 2017

“Amazing birthday meal, food and service outstanding!”

Me and my girlfriend booked here for my birthday meal.
They offer lifts to and from the restaurant when you get to the road that leads to it. (Maybe a Km long)
We chose to walk and the scenery was amazing.
We were seated by a lovely waiter and there was no rush or pressure to order.
I had a lovely cut of steak cooked to perfection and my girlfriend had surf and turf, again cooked to perfection. We shared tasty sides of mac and cheese, broccoli and a sauce.
The food was incredible and the knowledgable waiter recommended a lovely bottle of Rioja to go with it.
The staff were very attentive and we never had empty water or wine glasses.
To my surprise, once we finished our meals, the staff came out, singing, with a birthday cake.
It was a really nice personal touch and topped off what was a 10/10 dining experience.
The owner Paul, also came out after we were finished to see how everything was.
We invited him to sit down for a drink with us and he happily gave us valuable tips for the rest of our travels in Ubud.
A huge thank you to Paul and your staff for making my birthday meal perfect and the personal touch made it extra special, we very much look forward to returning in October.

If you are in Ubud and want a dining experience, do not miss this place!

Joel and Leah.

Visited June 2017

“Worth the trip”

After a a long walk through shopping stalls and a walk through rice patties (you are offered a motorbike ride) you arrive at one of my favorite places to eat in Bali.. service and food is 5 star quality. Entrees, main, 3 sides, dessert and 3 cocktails each $268 aud and worth every cent. We took the option of the motorbike road back to the main street because we were so full after a delicious meal. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2017

“Hunger for some Meat”

We visited the Luxe on our last evenig in Ubud. We orderd some Wagyu and Black angus. It took quite a while until the waiter came to say that they have an issue with our batch of meat and they have to redo it. The later served meat was excellent cook to the order. We were suprised when they offered all the drinks free of charge due to delay Thanks!

Visited June 2017

“Juicy steak”

From the moment we got picked up by the scooters to the desert – everything was great. The Waygu was cooked to perfection and the service was great. Small and cosy with great atmosphere!

Visited June 2017

“WOW…”

Decided our first meal in Ubud would be luxe after reading reviews on trip advisor and boy oh boy am I glad we went! Some reviews weren’t 5/5 because of the price but what do you expect when you are served High quality products made into fantastic meals!! Plus you do get extras like a hand made Bali mosquito repellent for dinner and an infused shot with your choice of flavour. My partner and I are young 20s and we can eat a whole cow between each other but just after two meals we were full! Everything was amazing from the service to the drinks. Our waiter (male starting with R) would of made our experience a 5/5 even if we didn’t like the food because he is unreal, I’m not sure how much he gets paid but it’s not enough.

ps. Brownie and triple mouse was icing on the unreal cake!

Visited June 2017

Book Your Stay With Us

LUXE Barbeque & Grill

Share Your LUXE Villas Experience

Share Your LUXE Barbeque & Grill Experience